Viva España!

Last week, I made an Indian Feast, this week I thought I’d try out some Spanish Cooking. I thought I’d attempt Tapas.

Tapas is simply a small snack usually to accompany a drink or two at lunchtime or in the early evening before the main meal. The Spanish generally won’t drink without eating something.

The origins of tapas are the topic of many arguments in different regions of Spain. It is said that the first Tapas was simply a piece of bread which was placed over the glass to keep the flies out. Hence the word ‘tapas’ was born. Tapa literally meaning ‘cover’ or ‘lid’.

Olives, or toasted almonds in a little olive oil and salt. These are the original tapas; the simplest of foods, requiring little preparation. As the tradition developed, tapas became more of an elaborate event, with each region having their own specialities.

I am going to make five Tapas dishes:

  • Meatballs in a Spicy Meatball Sauce
  • Spanish Omlette
  • Patatas bravas
  • Stuffed Aubergine
  • Garlic Prawns

Yummy I can’t wait

:0)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Austenite78
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 16:33:37

    Be careful with posting about tapas…. I am Spanish!!! So watch out what you say!! LOL Nah, I am joking. It will be interesting to see the result of your attempt to make tapas 😀

    Reply

  2. roughseasinthemed
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 17:45:11

    I think I have papas/patatas bravas somewhere on my blog, and tortilla of course. Spanish food is brill, as is Indian food 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

